The World through my Viewfinder

A couple of weeks ago (actually during the monopoly picture), my brother Ben came home from DC. He loves to cook so he made us dinner. I don’t remember what exactly he made us, but it included garlic and mushrooms (like shown in these pictures). I wanted to try out my new 50mm so I thought that with the wide aperture, I could get a pretty quick shutter speed. So I tried it out, and I think it worked out good. However, I didn’t get all I wanted in focus. I think new time I’ll try it at f/2.8. I also included in this set a picture of the mushrooms he was using cause I got the condensation on the bowl and I was pretty proud of that.

Comments on: "Week 4 – Mid Motion (Picture 3 – Cooking with Ben)" (10)

  1. It’s a really nice series, well done and convincing.

  2. Nice shots…and at f1.8 I wouldn’t expect it all to be in focus….even at f2.8 you may have got some blur

  3. The mushroom picture is tops.

  4. Hi Jeremy. As Steve says, even at 2.8, you’re still going to have a shallow DOF. I probably start at 5.6, then 8 then 11. You’d probably have to go f20+ (I’m guessing, not knowing the characteristics of your lens) before you start losing the effect you were after.

    Compositionally, I like the right-hand two shots the best. I could quite imagine seeing them in a cook book. Well done.
    M.

  5. Like them all, and now I’m hungry.

  6. Actually, I like the shallow DOF, especially with the shot of the garlic and the last one with your brother’s hands working the knife. The warm low light works well, too.

  7. Great pictures – the mushroom one’s so detailed on the full-size version. Great job!

  8. You are making me hungry (for your cooking)! 🙂

  9. I like the shallow DOF, too! I noticed that the 50mm has a really narrow focus at 1.8. That combined with my eyeglasses makes it hard for me to tell where it is really focusing.

  10. Well done, I also like the mushrooms

Leave a comment

Tag Cloud